Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles! (Nickelodeon Reboot)

Just released at retail, I found and purchased my first figure from the newly rebooted Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles series on Nickelodeon. The figures are of course made my Playmates and are all ready offering a cool new look at our four heroes in a half shell and their companions.

Nickelodeon TMNT

I surfed through the selection on the shelf of the newly displayed toy line at Toys R Us and found only one April O’Neil, two Shredders, two Kraangs, four to six Splinters, no Foot Soldiers and the rest were the guys in green, all evenly distributed. I will say that the box art is very cool. I like the color palette choices and bubble shape. The Turtles logo looks good and has a very reminiscent feeling from the original cartoon series of the 90’s.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Nickelodeon April O'Neil

I don’t know a whole lot about the reboot but I’m anxious see it when it releases in late September this year. Although I have been boycotting cable television for several years now, I still want to see what my favorite childhood reptiles are up too these days.

I was all ready a fan of watching the latest reboot of the franchise with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Fast Forward, as the references to the old cartoon were filled everywhere, especially at the culmination with Turtles Forever which also showcased the turtles from first reboot of the series, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Back To The Sewers.

 

TMNT Forever (2009)

 

 

I was able to pick up at least one figure as money is kind of tight at the moment (any extra money needs to go new stuff for school). Of course I had to pick up the figure they only had one of, April O’Neil. What’s interesting is that I didn’t know they were radically changing the character so much, such is the case for most reboots though. April O’Neil original was depicted being a full grown, middle-aged woman with a full time reporting career.

Now, as stated on the back of the box, “…may not fit in at school with her peers…” so she is teenager in middle or high school.  Also stated on the back is “April is the Turtles’ link to the “real world” – ever since she was thrown into their lives when the Kraang kidnapped her genius father.”, so she also plays a much role in the universe of TMNT as her parents are involved in the story. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Nickelodeon April O'Neil

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Nickelodeon April O'Neil

One other interesting thing I found was that her figure included weapons. I’m guessing she might actually help the Turtles fight against the Foot, literally. That might work, I guess we will have to see.

I’m hoping to get another figure to open and review but at this time I can’t risk the investment because the package was at least a C8 so I’m going to have to wait. I plan on going a full review on the entire line, maybe in time or shortly after the reboot launches on Nickelodeon. Till then, Turtle power!

Leave a Reply

